New Car Seat Law In California

January 4, 2017
Keep Reading ↓

1 January 2017 introduced a new law in California, which says parents have to keep their babies rear-facing until they are 2 years old. Securing your child in a car seat is the most effective thing you can do to protect yourself and your passengers in the event of a crash.


It is very important to make sure that all children riding in your car are properly secured before each and every trip, even if it’s just around the corner.

Most collisions occur within a mile of the home of the driver and passengers, so do buckle up for any drive.

Thousands of kids are injured or killed each and every year because their child passenger safety seats were not properly installed.

If you are not completely confident of how to properly secure your child in a safety seat, contact your local Highway Patrol Area Office, and ask to speak with a child passenger safety technician.

What does the new law say exactly?

“Children under 2 years of age shall ride in a rear-facing car seat unless the child weighs 40 or more pounds OR is 40 or more inches tall. The child shall be secured in a manner that complies with the height and weight limits specified by the manufacturer of the car seat.”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *